Magnitude 7.0 quake 423km from Tokyo causes no damage

Added by on July 10, 2011

Chart of Water Level

Chart of Water Level

A magnitude 7.0 struck off Japan’s Northeastern coast on Sunday at 10:57am AEST (00:57 GMT).

The quake, initially thought to be rated at 7.3, triggered tsunami warnings and evacuations of some workers from Japan’s damaged Fukushima Daiichi nuclear plant.

The tsunami alert was lifted at about 11:45am AEST (02:45 GMT) Sunday morning, yet a 10 centimetre wave was detected along the cost line. No damage or injuries were reported, and television footage of various ports showed calm and flat waters with no visible signs of a tsunami.

The quake was detected off the coast, at a depth of 35km and 231km from Sendai. Sendai was hardest hit by a 9.0 earthquake, followed by a 6m high devastating tsunami wave that travelled up to 10km inland on March 11. The March 11 quake occurred at a depth of 32km and about 67km off Japan’s coast.