Republic of South Sudan recognized by Sudan ahead of celebrations

Added by on July 8, 2011

Republic of South Sudan

Sudan’s President Omar al-Bashir announced on Friday the country’s official recognition of the new Republic of South Sudan, the world’s 196th country and 193rd member of the United Nations.


“The Republic of Sudan announces that it recognises the Republic of South Sudan as an independent state, according to the borders existing on January 1, 1956”, said Minister of Presidential Affairs, Bakri Hassan Saleh, in a statement broadcast on state television.

The reference to the 1956 border refers to the contested region of Abyei, which is oil-rich and located in the north. The region is home to the northern Misseriya tribes plus the Ngok Dinka people, who are closely allied with the South. The region was a battleground during the decades long civil war between the northern and southern forces.


On July 9 2011, southern Sudan officially becomes an independent country called the Republic of South Sudan, or RSS, through a declaration of independence and statehood. The country will appoint His Excellency Salva Kiir Mayardit as President of the new Republic for a four year term and a new Transitional Constitution will come into force. A new currency called the South Sudan Pound is expected to be introduced sometime over the next several months.


The Government of South Sudan, or GOSS, forms the basis for the Republic’s government and already has an elected Assembly, functioning judicial system, and several independent commissions. The Republic also has ten states, for which there are elected Governors at the State, County, and Payam (district) levels. The Republic’s official working language will change to English from its’ previous languages of English and Arabic.


The Republic of South Sudan will allow citizens to have dual citizenship and extends to people from (north) Sudan who become citizens through naturalization. The border with the North will allow free movement for pastoralists and traders that regularly traverse between the North and South. The nation’s army, the Sudan People’s Liberation Army will be transformed into the South Sudan Armed Forces and will be accountable to civilian authority and be governed by the Transitional Constitution.